Skip to content

18th Annual Cafritz Awards Winners

Individual Winners

  • Imhotep Newsome Language Access Program Manager, Metropolitan Police Department
  • Gene Ryan Sergeant Paramedic, DC Fire and EMS Department
  • Jose Santos Boiler Plant Operator, Department of General Services
  • Gloria Torrento Del Cid Administrative Officer, District of Columbia Public Schools
  • Circe Torruellas Citi-Wide Transportation Planner, District Department of Transportation

Team Winner

My School DC Team at the Office of the State Superintendent of Education
(Catherine Peretti, Amy Lerman, Aryan Bocquet, Michele DeSandro, Antoinette Williams, Patricia Etienne Payano, Lisvette Garcia Acosta, Michelle Yan)

18th Annual Cafritz Awards Finalists


  • Elba Garcia-Fiallo Executive Director, Language Acquisition Division, District of Columbia Public Schools
  • Grace Manubay Environmental Literacy Coordinator, Office of the Superintendent of Education
  • Sean O'Donnell Supervisory Financial Examiner, Department of Insurance, Securities and Banking
  • Ramona Quillet Attorney Advisor, Office of the Tenant Advocate
  • Eva Reid Information Technology Specialist, Office of the Chief Technology Officer
  • Marshelle Richardson Chief Risk Officer, Office of the Chief Financial Officer/Office of the Chief Risk Officer
  • John Sandy Program Manager, Department of Youth Rehabilitation Services
  • Amber Sturdivant Supervisory Environmental Protection Specialist (Branch Chief), Department of Energy and Environment
  • James Thomas Law Enforcement Officer, Metropolitan Police Department
  • Desiree Williams Supervisory Service Coordinator, Department of Disability Services


  • Healthful Food Access Initiatives Team
    District of Columbia Department of Health

    (Amelia Peterson-Kosecki, Michael Segal, Djinge Lindsay)
  • Family Support Team
    Metropolitan Police Department

    (Gregory Alemian Sr, Brett Parson, Jefferey Colleli)
  • Pave DC Team
    District Department of Transportation

    (Ting Ma, Meghan Marie Fowler-Finn, Amanda Ware, Arturo Arias-Fernandez, Andrew Kaufmann, Lakiera Spicer, Michaud Gray, Blake Holub, Ty'on Jones, Donise Jackson)
  • South Capitol - Core Team
    District Department of Transportation

    (Ra'Adia Cloyd, Joseph Dorsey, Lacrecia Fields, Clifford Lowery, Delmar Lytle, Errol Williams)
  • Tiny House in Action Team
    DC Department of Housing and Community Development

    (Latrena Owens, Michael Woodson, Stanley Fields, Chantese Rodgers, James Killette, Paula Ralph, Shelly Karriem, Dennis Chestnut, Lauren Linville)