Skip to content

About the Awards

The Morris & Gwendolyn Cafritz Foundation Awards for Distinguished DC Government Employees is an annual program designed to recognize and reward outstanding performance and exemplary service by DC Government employees. Established in 2000, the Awards honor individuals whose contributions have been exceptional and whose commitment and professionalism demonstrate the best in public service. Winners receive a $7,500 cash prize and a trophy. As part of the 15th Annual Cafritz Award’s Crystal anniversary a new Team Innovation Award with a $15,000 cash prize was established in 2016.

When the Cafritz Awards were established in 2000, the Foundation wanted to shine a light on the contributions of extraordinary government employees. We hoped to let the public know about these outstanding individuals and also to send a message to other excellent government employees that their dedication and considerable accomplishments are valued.

- Calvin Cafritz,
President and CEO, the Cafritz Foundation

The Cafritz Awards program is made possible by a grant from The Morris & Gwendolyn Cafritz Foundation. It was created by DC Agenda and the George Washington University Center for Excellence in Public Leadership (GW-CEPL) and is currently managed by GW-CEPL.

GW is committed to digital accessibility. If you experience a barrier that affects your ability to access content on this page, let us know via the Accessibility Feedback Form.